John Coltrane - Meditations
Label: Impulse! ‎– AS-9110, ABC Records ‎– AS-9110
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Gatefold
Country: US
Date of released: 1973
Category: Jazz
Style: Modal, Free Jazz, Post Bop
Genre: Jazz
Musician: John Coltrane
Album's name: Meditations
ZIP archive size: 1888

John Coltrane - Meditations


A1 The Father And The Son And The Holy Ghost
A2 Compassion
B1 Love
B2 Serenity
B3 Consequences

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
  • Designed At – Viceroy


  • Bass – Jimmy Garrison
  • Composed By – John Coltrane
  • Design [Cover] – Robert Flynn
  • Design [Liner] – Joe Lebow
  • Drums – Elvin Jones, Rashied Ali
  • Engineer – Rudy Van Gelder
  • Liner Notes – Nat Hentoff
  • Photography By [Cover And Liner Notes] – Charles Shabacon
  • Piano – McCoy Tyner
  • Producer – Bob Thiele
  • Tenor Saxophone – John Coltrane, Pharoah Sanders


Black ABC/Impulse label with "Impulse" written in script. Reissued in the 70s.

Total time of side A: 18:06
Total time of side B: 19:02

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
AS-9110, A-9110 John Coltrane Meditations ‎(LP, Album, Gat) Impulse!, Impulse! AS-9110, A-9110 US 1966
A-9110 John Coltrane Meditations ‎(LP, Album, Mono, Gat) Impulse! A-9110 US 1966
A 9110 John Coltrane Meditations ‎(LP, Album, Gat) Impulse! A 9110 France 1966
none John Coltrane Meditations ‎(CD, Album, RE, RM, Unofficial) ООО "ДОРА" none Russia 1997
IMP-88149 John Coltrane Meditations ‎(LP) Impulse! IMP-88149 Japan 1973

John Coltrane - Meditations listening: where to download for free?

You can currently download the John Coltrane - Meditations album for free in mp3, flac formats at It is also possible to buy "John Coltrane - Meditations" on Amazon, Discogs as listen or rent it on Spotify, Apple Music.